1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newly-Out Troubles

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by wtir, Jun 3, 2012.

1. wtir

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Hey there everyone,

I kind of joined in a rush because I have been trying to let things play out and "calm" down, so to speak, but I really wanted to turn to y'all for advice.

I'm a 21yo student who has just recently found an amazing guy that changed my world. We both have the same interests, have the same mindset, and we're both masculine. We have been going out for little over a month now, and he is the person who held my hand through my 'coming-out' to my parents and made the painful experience blow over much easier. Now when around my parents, they aren't greatly disturbed by the fact that I mention his name when a topic relates to him; when I do mention him I keep things simple, as if talking about a best friend. An important thing to note as well is that he has been out since the end of highschool, so about 3 years out now.

I know it has only been one month and a half and my first serious gay relationship, but I am really starting to be disturbed by his behavior. He has pretty bad ADD but is medicated and I have seen what he behaves like when he is genuinely interested. Nowadays he is playing on his iphone with games and crap (even wikipedia articles during movies for gods sake) during dinners he won't make eye contact with me for more than 3 seconds at a time while giving me a smile through his teeth and a perk of the brow before returning right back to what he was doing.