1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming Out Again...As An Adult

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by AdamStark, Jun 11, 2012.

1. AdamStark

AdamStark Guest

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    All but family
    Hi EC,

I only discovered this site a few days ago and have been reading the forums. This is my first post, and I would like to tell my story and discuss the bigger issue of coming out a second time after being pushed back into the closet when I was still in high school. A little about me, My name is Adam. I live in southern Louisiana and I'm a late 20-something teacher.

When I was just getting into my teen years I knew I was gay. It was something I kept to myself since I grew up in a little rural town and didn't know any other gay people. When I got into high school and made some good friends I felt comfortable enough to open up. All my friends were accepting. I started with telling girls who were excited for me and gave me the support I needed. When I got more confident I started telling my guy friends. One of them, when he found out, looked at me across the lunch table for a moment and then said casually, "I've known this for awhile now. I'm more surprised you finally told me."

From there on out, I felt great. However I was nowhere NEAR ready to tell my family. My parents are super religious (my dad is a church leader and my mother a Sunday school teacher) and my older brother and his wife are members of a conservative mega-church in a big city. When I was 17 one of my friends introduced me to a guy she knew and we hit it off really well. David and I began dating in October 2003 and were both immediately pulled into an immediate attraction relationship. He lived in the northern part of my state, a few hours away, and this was before the social media boom, so we talked daily by phone and I knew I was so in love with this man.