1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My Entire Story About Life and Parents

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by LetterA, Jun 23, 2012.

1. LetterA

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Hi everyone. This will be long, because I'm going to tell the relevant parts of my story as best I can.

I'm 17 years old and I live with my parents. I'm a high school graduate, but I'm not going to college until August 2013, which is quite a while away. Therefore I have a great chunk of time where I have to live with my parents. But more on them later.

Since about last August I've been thinking of myself as female—not the most feminine of transgender women, but I'm entirely certain that I feel this way and that in the future I want to change my body and whatnot. I just feel like it would be a vastly superior expression of myself. The social role suits me better, and the physical aspects are appealing to me as well (although these matters are not the focus of this post).

For most of the time since August, however, despite knowing the truth about myself full-well, I had serious difficulty avoiding deep denial for more than brief spurts of time. I felt great external pressure to completely suppress my feelings, which became unconscious for the majority of that time. About a week ago, I was having dinner with two of my female best friends and I accidentally referred to myself as female as well. In addition, when speaking to my father on several occasions as far back as the last year or two, I've let the same thing slip.

Basically, last week completely shattered my internal denial. I came out as transgender to three of my friends in the last few days (although not the two I had dinner with, nor anyone else who attended my school or will be attending my college). In this time, it has become increasingly obvious that I need to tell people.