1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Self mutilation

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Scenestealer, Jul 13, 2012.

1. Scenestealer

Out Status:
    A few people
    So I've been harming myself for five years now. My mom recently found out and took me to therapy, which didn't work, but I don't cut because of my depression, but for... other reasons. I don't know if I should or even how to aproach the subject with my mother.

2. pinklov3ly

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I know how you feel, I used to self harm during my early teenage years. It helped me cope, but it left behind memories that I try to forget. I've had helped, but the underlining problem still lingered into my late teens; I just couldn't accept myself as gay. I had trouble discussing my problems with my family, especially my parents, so I sought help on my own. Are you okay with who you are? If you decide to talk to her make sure you're okay with her knowing. I feel like my family will never understand why, which makes me feel even more abnormal, but I've embraced who I am.

#2 pinklov3ly, Jul 13, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2012
  3. Chip

Board Member Admin Team Advisor Full Member

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Why not bring it up with your therapist, rather than your mother? If you feel you're ready to tell your mother, that's cool, but otherwise, telling your therapist is really crucial since therapy isn't of any use if you can't be honest with your therapist :slight_smile:

4. Gravity

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I agree. Talk about these "other reasons," whatever they may be, with your therapist. They can't help you if they don't know what's going on. :slight_smile:

5. Eleanor Rigby