1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Where...oh where to start.....

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by figuringoutme, Jul 14, 2012.

1. figuringoutme

Sexual Orientation:
    Straight but curious
    First of all, hi , its my first time to post here. Im fact I didn't know this site....or several of the others listed existed untill yesterday. I may or may not be an atypical member here. I am a ( more or less) happily married 38 year old gun toting Republican ( well, depending on the topic lol) living in a very small closed minded TX town. Wait! don't stop reading just yet , its not by any means a hate post.
    Because.... I think, no Im pretty sure Im bisexual. Throughout my life there has been so much gay bashing around me. The next door neighbors of my uncle were always talked about in hushed tones, kids at school were ostracized at the slightest hint that they might be. It all brings me to tears so when I took a dare and kissed a girl in the closet , that I secretly crushed on, at 13 and completely melted, I told myself it was practice for my first kiss. Then other little similiar instances have happened and always brushed off.

My oldest turned 13 recently and its brought some of those mental skeletons out and caused me to start examining myself. So, here is the first thing Im trying to figure out.
    I've never been against any sort of relationships wether they be straight, gay, lesbian, ect. So why am I extremely uncomfortable and have no idea how to act when I am around these people, ( which admittedly to my knowledge isn't often around here) especially lesbian couples?

2. Caoimhe Fayre

Welcome to EC! :slight_smile: I can't really offer much advice.

I can, however, relate - I also get very shy when I'm around other lesbians, and suddenly I can barely string two words together. It's like my IQ instantly goes chameleon on me or something...