1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Seniority intimidation?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by suckonpronouns, Jul 18, 2012.

1. suckonpronouns

This probably seems so silly to some if not most of you, but I may or may not be experiencing some intimidation from the forums already. I guess I don't waste any time at getting overwhelmed. Haha.

Anyway, cutting to the chase. Being a noob to Empty Closets, I feel slightly intimidated by the forums and am hesitant to post (which is probably why I'm more often a lurker on forums in general). I guess I feel that my thoughts/feelings/opinions/etc. will just be seen as invalid because I'm new to EC. I feel horrible that that's the case because I'm basically generalizing things and making you all seem like you'll just overlook me and that the EC community isn't open to having new members but for some reason, my mind just isn't letting it go. I'm sure the simplest (seemingly) way to correct this is to just start posting and hope my mind is proven wrong, but have any of y'all experienced this when first joining EC or any other online community? If so, how'd you overcome it and erase your noob-status anxiety?

2. Mogget

Stick around, reply to other people's posts, start your own threads. I've never seen a thread ignored just because it was from a newbie. Usually our newest members are the ones with the most problems and we all make a major effort to help you guys. However, if you'd rather have a one-on-one conversation you're free to PM me or any other staff member.

3. Peanuts