1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Am I too young to come out?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Spirit, Jul 21, 2012.

1. Spirit

I'm 14 and I have only recently accept the fact that I am lesbian. I've been questioning for several months and it feels really good to have reached this knew understanding of myself, so I'd really like to begin the coming out process soon. I've tried coming out to my psychologist but I just couldn't get the words out. My family is slightly Christian, (Except for me, I'm Wiccan.) and my parents have shown support to their gay friends. One of my main concerns is that I'm too young to come out, I haven't even started highschool yet. My other concern is that I'm just not ready to come out. But how do I know when I'm ready?

2. dasazn

There is no such thing as "too young to come out." Whenever you are ready is the time to come out...knowing when that is, though, is the harder part. Once you feel comfortable with yourself and who you are, knowing that some of your friends may dislike you because of who you are (make sure that they are no longer your friends!), I would say you are ready. Start with your closest friends - they are the least likely to leave you - and your family if they are generally friendly towards gays.

Good luck!

3. Spirit

Thanks, man!

4. kizza111

You're definitely not too young, I, and a lot of people on this website, knew I was gay (other than a few questioning moments) from a very young age. However, a lot of people your age are probably more likely to react badly to it than if you waited until you (well really, they) are a bit older. But if you're up for it, go for it! Let us know how it goes :slight_smile:

5. bob94