1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

where to look for substantial friend/relationship

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by heaveninursmile, Aug 17, 2012.

1. heaveninursmile

Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    Hi I'm 20
    I'm an international student at a US college.
    I've been fooling around on the Internet, came across this forum with "gay, lonely and depressed" as keywords, and was struggling for a while about giving it a chance here.

I used to like girls alright long ago, but things have changed in high school. I had a real crush on this 30 something teacher. Funny thing is, I didn't feel anything special from the moment I first saw him. All I did was to focus on his lecture. How it happened I don't know, but I began to find myself go to his office so often to just chat or ask about exercise problems. No, I never got to "find" myself do that because I was too lost, unaware what was happening to me. I got obsessed at some point and eventually lost the relationship that was slowly developing on a friendly level.

It's been years now, and I try not to find myself deep in the memory, but now it's coming back.

After that, I had a crush on a friend. No, I don't want to say "crush" because it sounds real painful like the word is crushing my chest. In fact, it was more of a gradually building fondness so to say; does that still amount to "crush" in its common usage? With this friend, it all began to happen as this friend opened up to me and shared his private issues like girlfriend, self-confidence, introverted-ness, mostly those. I think I'm a deeply empathizing, sensitive person and listen to my friends' concerns more involved than anyone'd ever done for me. For that reason, that friend probably found me often to ask for counsels or a mere outlet. But then again just like with the teacher, I got obsessed with him, and our friendship had to fall apart.