1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

College Questions

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Chierro, Aug 19, 2012.

1. Chierro

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Hey, so my sister is moving into college tomorrow and it's starting to give me plenty of questions. Granted I'm a sophomore in High School now so I still have a little time.

1) What am I supposed to do about a roomate? I've never been the most comfortable with guys. My bowling team, some guys in band, and ones I've known for awhile sure, but strangers....ehh. I know meeting a stranger and becoming friends with them is easy, I've gone through work at an amusement park for two years. I mean my friend Erica found out her roomates before the summer and frequently had Skype dates with them and met them when she visited West Virginia (she's going to WVU). My sister is rooming with her best friend. I'd love to room with my best friend but he's like me, he doesn't know what he wants to do so it's unlikely that we'd choose the same college.

2) When would be the right time to tell him I'm bi? Coming out, for me, has always been a simple process ever since my first time coming out, but it was always to friends.

I know it just seems pointless since I still have three years until college, but it's been racking my head for the past week.

2. Jared

I would tell them before you move in so if it is a problem you can get a different roommate. It's easier, at least at UCLA, to switch roommates earlier in the year. If you are really uncomfortable rooming with a guy or just don't want a roommate some schools have single rooms. I had one last year and will again this year and it can be nice since it's easier to study and you don't have roommate problems, but they do make it easy to shut yourself in.

3. Aria

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    All but family