1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

thinking about going to this gay nightclub for lounge night but.....

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by needshelp, Aug 24, 2012.

1. needshelp

i'm at a little conflicted here with my reasons for going and being apprehensive with what i'm looking for to happen.

i was thinking about going to the local nightclub about a good hour away from here to get a number or to hook up with somebody (i kind of need the action even though i'm scared since i've never done anything like that before). the thing is i don't want to get me into a situation that i can't handle or don't want to be in. let's say that i do find someone to hook up with or find someone who's interested in hanging out and getting into something, i'm scared that i might catch a disease or something from kissing or from oral sex. i just basically want to go to the gay nightclub, get a number or two from a guy who is interested in being a friend and a little more and going back home with anybody knowing my business. how do you guys think i should go about it? should i fall back away from this until i come out or should i just do it anyway with caution.

2. Gravity

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    It seems to me that you're already aware of a lot of the major potential pitfalls. While going out and meeting other gay people can certainly be a good thing, if you're going out to a club you of course run the risk of an sti if you do have (unprotected) sex with someone, and in my experience, you're less likely to meet a friend in a nightclub than someone who wants to hook up.

If you do decide to hook up with someone, then that's okay - there's nothing wrong with it, so long as you are very sure to practice safe sex (and if they don't want to, that's your big red flag to get out of there asap).