1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to keep things to youself?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by RainDreamer, Aug 24, 2012.

1. RainDreamer

I have always believe it is better to let things out than to keep them in, but sometimes , the situation requires me to stay quiet,such as the case with my aunt's family.

I am currently living with my aunt as I am studying abroad and she is the one that is living closet to my university in this country. I cannot move out yet, as my mother worries that being who I am now, I can be taken advantage of by the wrong people, so she says it is better if I can be with family members, because even if they don't accept me as who I am, they still have responsibilities as family to take care of me.

But the thing is, my aunt and her family are Catholic, and most likely not being suportive of LGBT (never heard them speak about it seriously, just jokes that I don't like). They have not know about my true gender yet, and I do not intent to let them know as long as I still live with them as this would surely make things uncomfortable between us. Still, I often unconciously act like a girl, or sometimes shows interest of girly things, and most reccently, sharing the skin care products of my female cousin (I use the excuse of being metrosexual).

And in those times, my aunt and sometimes other member of the family remind me that it is unmanly for me to do so, and I should act like a "real" man. I despite that. Every time I hear them, or anyone actually, saying such things, I feel like they are trying to imprison me again, trying to chain me in with this body. I feel so much anger, rage and disappointment. I feel like screaming with all my lungs into their faces "I AM A GIRL!".