1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problems w/ opening up/intimacy

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by m3ss9, Aug 30, 2012.

1. m3ss9

m3ss9 Guest

A little background...
    So I'm about to start my last year of undergrad, and I've definitely had my ups and downs. I'm a good student and people like me... but being closeted has taken its toll on me. Constantly trying to repress who I am in an effort to deal with shame and guilt has landed me in a lot of trouble with the law (for substance-abuse-related offenses). I've been trying to change this past summer but I've only been feeling worse about myself. Lately, I can't help feeling that I'm going deeper and deeper into the closet. I deleted my facebook and I don't really talk to people anymore. I was diagnosed with depression and anxiety by a psychologist and I started taking an anti-depressant but its not really making me feel better about who I am as a person; the only thing I've really noticed is an increase in energy. Pot is the only thing that makes me happy anymore. I really just can't stop hating myself for who I am. It's like the self-acceptance phase isn't possible for me... I'm pretty much a chain cigarette-smoker at this point and music/drugs are all I care about anymore. And I do contribute to society/live a functional life; I go to one of the best public universities in the country and get good grades/I'm responsible and hold down jobs with no problem, but as a person, I'm a mess.