1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New, looking for support

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Sbianca, Aug 31, 2012.

1. Sbianca

Out Status:
    Some people
    Hey, I'm new here and I'm having a little trouble. I am a freshman in college and as you can see in my information to the side, I'm bisexual. I have no doubts about that. I am out to my twin sister, a few friends, but really not many people at all. To tell you the truth, I have to problem with being bisexual. I've heard a lot of people become extremely nervous and ashamed of themselves once they've come to that realization, but I'm very comfortable with it.
    I have not told my parents. I doubt my mom would believe me, and if she did she wouldn't be happy, but my father would probably not make a big deal out of it. He might have doubts but would probably accept it without a big fuss. He's pretty understanding. My sister it totally okay with it, as are a few close friends.
    My problem has to do with a few friends, specifically my roommate and my best friend here at school. I have no doubt my roommate would be understanding and wouldn't care, but at the same time I'm afraid she might become uncomfortable sharing a room with me. (I'm not attracted to her at all, just by the way.) No idea why that would be, but it's a worry I have.
    My best friend, however, is a very religious Christian and does not condone LGBT people at all. She believes it's wrong, a sin, etc.... When we talk about "who we like", I'd love to tell her about the girl I'm interested in but I doubt anything good would come of that!
    I'm a member of an LGBT group here at school but as of now I have only one person to talk to in reality and need help. I'm comfortable with my sexuality but not with how others might take it.
    Thanks!

2. Rygirl