1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Perception of Reality

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Tetraquark, Sep 2, 2012.

1. Tetraquark

Tetraquark Guest

I often catch myself thinking that reality feels, well, not real, like a dream or a story from a book. I have also noticed that, while the feeling does occasionally disappear entirely, it's there to a greater or lesser extent the majority of the time.

Does anyone else feel this way? How common is it? I can try to give more details as needed, but I'm having a hard time collecting my thoughts on the matter.

2. Ianthe

Life feels like a movie you are watching, or like you are outside of it watching it happen to someone else? I'm no expert, but I've felt like that myself in the past and found it kind of disturbing sometimes, so I looked up some things. This is what I learned:

Derealization - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Depersonalization - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

If you are distressed by it, or if it interferes with your life, you might want to talk to a psychologist.

These are types of dissociation, and they are often a coping mechanism to deal with trauma. But then they can persist.

3. AtheistWorld

AtheistWorld Guest

Out Status:
    Some people
    This is interesting...

4. J Snow

I can honestly say I can relate quite a bit to this. Especially the closer I get to starting HRT (tuesday) the more I find myself doubting reality. I think its kind of acting as a safeguard as a result of the stress of how things are going to turn out, because when it wears out and I think about how this is real life, I just feeling scared and feeling intense anxiety about the future.

That sound fairly similar to what you are experiencing?

5. Tetraquark

Tetraquark Guest