1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My Mom knows

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Spirit, Sep 3, 2012.

1. Spirit

I'm very sure that my Mom knows that I'm lesbian, I belive it's partly because of my own stupidity. This may be long.

First some backstory, I'm a writer and I like to make little biographies for my characters. Just so I can keep their information in order. On night in February I was using my Mom's laptop (I do this a lot) and writing the bio of a bisexual female. While I was working on this my Mom wanted to take her computer up for the night. I wasn't able to save the document so I asked if she could do it for me, which she did. But I hadn't expected her to read the whole thing, including the character's full history, and my mother assumed that I was trying to tell her something. The next night, while in the car she confronted me about the whole thing, even asking if I needed to tell her something. At the time I was still questioning, so I just awkwardly ended the conversation. I couldn't get that incident out of my head for months, and we never talked about it again.

Which brings things up to a few days ago. My Mom and I were watching TV on the couch Which is irregular, as she normally sits in an armchair. I was using her laptop and visiting my normal sites, and I (very stupidly) beliving that she couldn't see the screen, quickly checked on EC. (I'm sure she's seen a EC tab open on my browser before) Later that night, right before I was going to start getting ready for bed, she came up to my room. She sat down on next to me on my bed, and said "Hey, I've been picking up on some things lately and I was wondering if you wanted to talk to me about it." TO which I responded "Uhhh... I'm about 80% sure I know what you're talking about and can we please talk later?" My Mom left me alone for nearly the rest of the night.