1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Feeling very distressed and need advice

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Sbianca, Sep 8, 2012.

1. Sbianca

Out Status:
    Some people
    There's a number of things going on with me lately. Let me start by saying that I am a pretty private person; some would say "shy", but I'd put it as "reserved". I am a freshman in college and am having a good time. I'm an honors student and really prioritize my academics, but I'm socializing well and have started to warm up to people. My roommate (random assignment) and I are getting along really well and are becoming good friends (I'm not attracted to her, just to clear that up). She doesn't know I'm not straight; I don't think it would be a problem at all, but I'm still afraid to tell her. My best friend here (very religious and against LGBTQ) has no idea...neither do my parents. I did tell my mom that I thought I was bisexual back when I was 13 or so, and she was shocked, very unhappy, and didn't even seem to believe me. My dad would probably be okay with it or just want me to wait before making any big assumptions. I've always said that I never wanted to be in a relationship, which was a lie. I just wasn't especially interested in a relationship with a guy.
    But even with all that, I have difficulty striking up conversations with people...especially people I like. My problem is that I get BAD crushes on girls I don't know. Like, at-first-sight-but-really-intense, can't-even-look-at-her types of attraction. I'm interested in a casual friend in one of my classes, who is straight. As far as I know, anyway.