1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Depressed for no reason?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by TwoMethod, Sep 11, 2012.

1. TwoMethod

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Let's preface this by saying that I have a lot of experience with psychiatry as I volunteered for months in a clinic, I have read widely in this field and it's the area I want to go into. I don't want to talk about anti-depressants (any one who has half a questioning mind would do good to look at the studies about how effective anti-depressants actually are).

What should you do when you're depressed about nothing? There is this guy who I've been "in love" with for ages, and I was talking to him a lot today in school. But I feel depressed in the way — well, it's almost as if I said something embarrassing or caused him not to like me, even though I know I didn't. I know the sadness is about him but nothing happened to cause the sadness.

This is really vague, I know, but does any one have any experience with random sadness before?

It's really getting me down.

2. TheAMan

Yeah I had an experience with random sadness last week. My roommate had come in drunk that night and he had some drunk girls with him too after I specifically said not to bring girls in the room. He sincerely apologized to me and he told that he's an alcoholic. That once he starts drinking he can't stop. It came from him being depressed all the time and he hate himself for it. He also told me how he tried to kill himself a couple times but failed. When he told em these things, I promised him that I would always be there for him and help him through anything he needed.