1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Approaching a Catch-22

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Epipleptic, Sep 13, 2012.

1. Epipleptic

I'd appreciate another perspective on this problem I'm facing.

I've been attending an LGBT group for people my age for a few months. There aren't a lot of regular attendees, which makes getting to know people hard, but I'm slowly (I emphasize slowly) getting to know some of the other people who come regularly. A positive development is that they're looking for new people to be involved in running and supporting the group. I know it would be really good for me to get involved so I can feel more attached to the community and get to know people better. I also legitimately want to help out. I also think having some connection with the group may help build momentum towards coming out.

However, I feel weird being involved and getting to know people when I'm not out. It feels like, and very well may be, a hindrance. One problem is the occasional feeling like I don't quite fit in. I can deal with that. Another is feeling like I don't deserve gay friends while closeted. Yet another is hiding what's going on in my life from my family, whom I live with. It's stressful being closeted. It's hard to make friends while stressed. Openness with my family would hopefully alleviate the guilt and stress. So coming out to my family would make my group involvement more authentic.

To sum up, having some connection to the gay community helps in coming out, but not being out to my family holds me back from being connected to the gay community, but coming out to them is difficult by not being connected to the gay community. Any new perspectives would be great.

#1 Epipleptic, Sep 13, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2012
  2. Gravity

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone