1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

In a Rut

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Tabb, Sep 18, 2012.

1. Tabb

College stuff. I need some advice. xP

I'm currently attending an the American Academy of Art, and as the name suggests, I'm majoring in Digital Illustration. I'm currently only in my first few weeks here, but I'm debating on whether this is really what I want.

I really do like drawing. I suck at it, but I want to get better. I'm having a really hard time right now, though. It's not too late for me to switch majors (I was also considering Photography) and it's not too late to transfer to a music school.

See, the thing is I can't decide what I want to do. I love music, and I actually have the patience to practice piano and singing and such... even taking the time to enjoy it. I also really love drawing and other visual arts, but I'm not good at those either; the only difference is that I can sit down with a blank piece of paper in front of me for hours before drawing a few lines then deciding to scrap it. Usually isn't too enjoyable since I can't draw well, and I listen to music during it, too.

So I was hoping for advice, if possible. I really am trying to decide between three things: Drawing, music, or photography. This is a really big choice for me. :I

2. o0351i

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    If you're good at music, and you find yourself spending more of your energy towards that vs photography or drawing, then i'd say go for it. What's your goal after college? that should help influence your decision as well. When I was in hs I spent all my time in art classes, and had interned for a freelance graphic designer before my senior year. I genuinely love graphic and mixed media arts but it's fucking hard to make a living unless you're a genius at marketing.

3. Tabb

That's the thing. I suck at them all equally. :I

4. Artemicion