1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Severe depression and schooling

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by LaurieAnderson, Sep 20, 2012.

1. LaurieAnderson

So I'm now in my third year of college studying sciences. The early 2012 semester was the worst I've ever had, high school or post secondary: I had to drop 1/2 my courses to avoid academic penalty, and the ones I did complete were an uphill struggle that still resulted in me getting 15-20% lower than my average.

I was hoping by now my mood would turn around. It hasn't, not in the slightest. The summer break was likely the most miserable in my life: working day in, day out in the middle of nowhere with a bunch of people who didn't like me. I figured my life would turn around: everyone says it does eventually -- eventually you'll find the light. I'm searching for it, I tell ya, but I feel like I'm feeling my way through the pitch black, no direction, no hope.

My grades need to perk up. I'm used to being a straight A student who easily grabbed onto ideas and who comprehended complex mathematics, scientific ideas or literature. But I just got my first labs/assignments back and it feels like last semester all over again. My course load is pretty rigorous, but I don't see how I can graduate on time if I drop one to go easy on myself. I really, really don't want to delay my graduation.