1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Small talk, getting to know a guy, etc.

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Aldrick, Sep 27, 2012.

1. Aldrick

I'll cut right to the chase. I decided to throw my hat into the dating ring. To my surprise I've gotten more attention than I anticipated. There is one guy who I'm interested in clicking with and we're going to be chatting really soon.

I need some advice. This is an awkward stage of a relationship where you're basically two strangers meeting for the first time and trying to see if you have anything in common at all. There is added pressure because you're trying to walk the line and be honest, but you don't want to reveal anything that will scare someone off and have them run for the hills.

It's just small talk and seeing if anything clicks. I might want to have a few clicks (depending on how he comes off). I'm not good at this type of small talk. It just isn't my forte.

I already have a few tricks to get through it. Like, for example, ask questions and then use his answers as a chance to reveal things about myself that he can relate too. Where I stumble is when I'm asked questions, or if I'm in a situation where he is even more insecure and getting information from him is like pulling teeth. (Been there done that recently. We ended up talking about his favorite TV show Everybody Loves Raymond and comparing our families to the characters on the show. :eusa_doh: )

Mostly, I'm looking for some good topics to discuss - some interesting places to steer the conversation. I don't want to get into anything too personal.

2. Mirko

Admin Team Advisor Full Member

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone