1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I just don't have a clue

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by amerikiwi, Oct 17, 2012.

1. amerikiwi

amerikiwi Guest

So, I'm sure all of you have read a story on here by now at least somewhat similar to mine, but I need to get it off my chest. This is going to be long, so have patience. Thanks in advance. :slight_smile:

I have been questioning my sexuality now, on and off, for just over 10 years. I am now 22. I couldn't really pinpoint the first thing that made me start thinking I wasn't at least completely straight. Upon thinking I had come to terms with being gay around the time I was 13, I told my mother and things went really horrible, I had thought she would be totally fine with it but told me how dirty and unnatural that is and how it better be a phase, however she never threatened me with not loving me or losing the relationship or anything. We hadn't talked about it since. Information about my questioning got to the wrong people in middle school and my life really went to :***:. I ended up attempting suicide twice and ended up subsequently having a couple of psych ward stays that only further ruined my social situation. On the way to my second psych ward stay, I told my father (with whom I have a generally toxic relationship) that I thought I could be gay, totally not expecting a good result; he was nice enough about it but said my mind is all confused right now and that I wasn't gay, I was just confused, but that he knew I was straight. After I got released from hospital I just ended up telling him he was probably right and I was straight, I just felt too awkward talking to subject with him and decided to let it go. Those scars are what I suspect led to my social anxiety issues with always wondering what/how much people know about me when I catch them looking at me. My family situation is a pretty huge mess, with all of my extended fam