1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help! Dysfunctions caused from being closeted

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Akatosh, Oct 19, 2012.

1. Akatosh

First post in a couple months - sorry :/, school is eating all of my attention. That is actually what is causing me so many problems right now. I'm in my last semester and the past 3 weeks my performance has been suffering, and I don't know exactly why. I have social anxiety, and find it hard to ask other students, TA's, and professors for help. The anxiety I feel when it is absolutely necessary to ask for help on an assignment/studying is debilitating. I end up telling myself I can figure it out, when it would be so much easier to ask for guidance. I don't think I know how to interact with these people because I don't know who I am. I feel fear when I do speak to my contemporaries, professors, etc, and it revolves around my sexuality. The less I identify with my old self, the harder things become (as time passes, I shed more aspects of my former 'straight' self). It's about time for me to come out, so I can meet my true self in the light and learn how to interact as my non-closeted self. Just this week, I have damaged my grades in two classes tremendously, and I attribute it to my failure to take action and ask for help. I failed an exam on Wednesday hardcore (drop exam), made a zero on a project due Friday because I did not know how to make my program work (scared to talk to TA's), and did not turn in my homework (which I completed mostly) because of the depression that rebounded from this week's anxiety. I just felt too ashamed to get out of bed this morning and slept until 4pm.