1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help please.

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by suburbanhero, Oct 30, 2012.

1. suburbanhero

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Hi everyone.

I'd been really upset the last few weeks because of lying to my parents about being gay. My mum who I have always been so supportive of and close to has called me disgusting, filthy and a pervert. I've been told I've ruined my life and that I will never advance in my career because of it (I'm a teacher).

I've been slapped over the last 24 hours and the comments I have been subjected to have been really hurtful. I'm 26 and late to this, I still live at home, but more and more I'm considering just walking out.

Did anyone else have a similar situation? Any advice please I'm getting desperate.

Cheers.

2. burg

really sorry to here about your situation man.if you have the means to get out use them.im not saying cut of all ties i dont know if they can come round.but its never healthy being in that situation aye.

3. suburbanhero

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    What worries me is that my Mum is saying that she is going to kill herself and that I've detroyed the family.

The issue being do I stay loyal to my family or cut ties?

Thank you for the response, it's much appreciated.

4. teluphone

Sorry to hear about your situation. It's similar to the way my mother feels about gay people (She is very accepting of the gay people around her yet she told me she will kill herself if i ever came out to her because she doesn't believe the family has 'bad' genes, it doesn't help she has been diagnosed as manic depressive and my father is extremely homophobic)

For me, I'm remaining to stay loyal until i can become fully independent from them since i'm focusing on finding my university education first. I really hope i wasn't rambling too much

5. Pseudojim

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual