1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

...Career advice?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by vere, Nov 1, 2012.

1. vere

Hello,
    So recently, I have begun to seriously question what it is that I want to do with my life (trust me, I am aware I am not the only person who has this problem!). My plan up until now was to become a teacher. However, while I am genuinely interested in teaching, I do not enjoy what I am studying (I am an English major) and I have become really interested in the prospect of becoming a lawyer in the non-profit sector. Poverty and inequities within the educational system are both topics that interest me and I feel that being a lawyer would give me a chance work with these issues. However, the prospect of law school frightens me; I have done absolutely nothing to prepare for it and I am already a junior. When I have spoken to career services and other professors they have, in so many words, hinted that law school in general is not a recommended route. Plus, I wonder if I would even be able to get into law school considering how little I have done (compared to other students) in terms of internships and extra-curricular activities.
    I honestly just feel very flustered and angry because it seems to me that I have wasted several years of my life being unproductive and unconcerned about my future prospects. I wish I could take a time machine and go back to my first year :-( . Is it too late for me to switch plans? Would it even make sense for me to switch plans? Whenever I ask for advice I get very vague answers that don't help.

2. Jim1454

I really don't know much about this topic.