1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I'm 30, now what?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by PSU1982, Nov 15, 2012.

1. PSU1982

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I live near the college town I grew up and went to school at. I moved to a city for a few years after I graduated college, but ultimately had to move back after a bad relationship and unable to find meaningful, lucrative work. Now I am living with my parents again because I am barely able to support myself on my own. I feel professionally lost. I have no idea what I'm interested in doing in doing with my life.

My personal life isn't any better. Being 30 in a college town makes me invisible to most guys. Even guys my own age are to busy chasing after sexual encounters to consider anything more meaningful. I don't have any real close friends. I go out occasionally with people from work, but at the end of the night it's just me and tears in my pillow.

Where in my life did it go so wrong? I find myself despising gay men for being so arrogant and shallow. I've tried using the Internet to meet people, but I find the same thing there.

It's getting harder each day to not be paralyzed by depression. I keep hope, but it fluctuates like it is today.

2. DhammaGamer

Go back to school? If your previous degree hasn't given you what you had hoped it would, maybe try for graduate studies or a new undergrad degree to try and broaden your career possibilities. Or maybe just try looking for work in other states. Just because things went sour before doesn't mean you can't bootstrap it and try again somewhere else. You're still young and have a lot of possibilities ahead of you. I say "fuck relationships" and work on improving your personal success and happiness WAY before associating yourself with the dating scene.

3. Cassandra

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual