1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Stressed in the Closet.

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by HelloMyNameIs, Nov 24, 2012.

1. Hello All,
    Lately I've had something on my mind, which is causing me a lot of extra stress, so I thought I would share it with you. Maybe you can help me out. My problem is: I've accepted that I'm gay relatively recently, but that has put me in this awkward place where I dream of being out, but I can't make myself come out.

This post is just going to be about the challenges of coming out to my mom. I'll save everyone else for another time.

When I was a sophomore in high school, my mom came into my room as I was about to go to sleep, sobbing and asking me if I was gay. At that point, I was fairly certain that I was gay, and I was pretty accepting of the fact. When she asked me like this however, it terrified me. I quickly denied it, which calmed her down. I, on the other hand, was a wreck. I kept telling myself that I was wrong; This couldn't be me. This little incident ended up sending me deep into denial for about 5-6 years, and I've only recently come out of it.

I wish I hadn't lied to her, because now I feel like I need to stick with that. I feel like she will be hurt that I lied to her for so long. She is not homophobic, and she would still love me, but she would be upset. I don’t want to deal with having her think of me as abnormal, or as different from the daughter she knows. I want to be able to tell her, but I don't know how I can get past this. I'm terrified that I'll never find the courage to come out and will end up alone for the rest of my life.

Sorry if my thoughts are a jumbled mess here. I'm not the best at putting my thoughts into words.
    If anyone who has felt something similar has advice or words of encouragement, that would be lovely.

2. FlameFeather

Out Status:
    Not out at all