1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Meeting Guys whilst still in the Closet?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Shahenshah, Dec 3, 2012.

1. Shahenshah

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
    Hi everyone,

Well, I have never done this before; and, to be honest, I am surprised I am here. I am happy nonetheless. Haha.

I am a student at UIUC, and I am not out at all. But I want to meet [gay] men still - just even for someone to be able to talk to about my 'issues' which I can not right now with anyone. Where do gay people go to find each other? [I suppose, I am wording stupidly. I apologise in advance; I am not trying to offend.] Are there good sites online?

I realise this is a bit open-ended, but any advice is welcome.

Thanks en advance!

---------- Post added 3rd Dec 2012 at 02:22 AM ----------

I do not know how to remove the post from here, haha. Sorry! I know my post should not be in this section!

2. justinf

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    See if your university has an LGBT group. I went to my university's, originally because I could get extra credit for my class by doing that, and then I liked it so much and met so many nice people that I ended up making a lot of new friends. So try that!

I don't know of any recommendable online sites. Most online sites are of the hookup type, and even if they're not meant to be a hookup site they end up that way anyway.

3. GayforGuys

I'm actually glad you posted that, I'm in a pretty similar situation at the moment. I'm in the closet, hopefully for not much longer, and looking to meet Gay people. I would definitely check if there are any LGBT groups of any kind nearby at all, the internet and places like this are always a great place to meet Gay people.