1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What causes "clingy-ness" in a relationship?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by amoore658, Dec 11, 2012.

1. amoore658

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    All but family
    Hey guys! :smilewave

Eugh, so stressed! As you may have seen from my first post, I'm in a relationship with a guy, coming up to two weeks now (not exactly a milestone! lol)

But he's SO clingy. What causes this? He says he wants to see me a MINIMUM of three or four days per week!!! That's OK if you're retired, but I'm not! He does his University course at home (distance learning) and he's unemployed, so he's constantly got nothing to do!

Whereas I have all of the following to do in a week:
    * University (I'm studying to be a Cardiac/Respiratory Physiologist) (about 28hrs)
    * Hospital Placements (about 10hrs)
    * Sailing (one of my hobbys)
    * Seeing other friends
    * Seeing him
    * and don't we all like a bit of "alone time"?

I dunno what to do. I like him quite a bit, but don't want to "sacrifice" other things for him?

What is it that causes someone to be clingy?

(*hug*)

---------- Post added 11th Dec 2012 at 03:12 PM ----------

This sounds awful, but he doesn't seem to have many friends, and by the sounds of things, he lost a lot of them... So I think that's another factor to his being clingy

---------- Post added 11th Dec 2012 at 03:20 PM ----------

[Second Edit] I would like it to work with him, which is why I'm asking... But I think it's true that: "When we ask advice, it's because we know the answer and wish we didn't"

2. inthedark4eva

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
    It really depends on the person.

It could stem from childhood issues (divorced parents, neglect, abuse, etc.). There is also insecurity which usually comes from self-esteem issues (which could be caused by any number of things).