1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

About school.......?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Jace, Feb 19, 2008.

1. Jace

Ok so I start school in Austin tomorrow, and haven't come out to my mom as planned, but I still want to start off right ya know, GAY lol. So, even though I'm not out to my mom yet do you think I should be out at school, I don't mean like shouting it over the PA system, but like if someone asks, which they most likely will, I've never done that before, cause most of the time they ask like jackasses so what do you think I should do?

2. biisme

well, maybe you should wait and see how receptive the people in the school are. but, if you really want to be out, then go for it.

good luck.

3. Brett

Well this is Texas........I'm honestly not doing it for 2 reasons.

1) If people at school know, then your parents will find out secondhand if you're not carefull.
    2) You're probably a Fish this year, so that would be 2 more years of the upperclassmen picking on you, and it's harder to make guy friends. And no guy coming over to spend the night will make ur parents a little suspicious. (that's how my mom found out BTW)

and since you're new, you might not want everyone's first impression of you to be, "Oh......it's the gay kid...." But I'm not saying that you shouldn't keep coming out bit by bit, just not all at once.

So not to rain on your parade, but it might not be in your bst intres to be out in Texas, in highschool, as the new kid, and be so young. But it's your choice not mine, so do what you feel is right.

4. Jace