1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Awkwardness around guys?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by DisneyDiva, Dec 18, 2012.

1. DisneyDiva

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Hi, I'm 16 and gay and currently out to everyone (near enough) and I'm currently studying in Sixth Form and pretty much ALL of my friends are girls - and that's the way it has always been. I haven't really "gotten out much" outside of school and find myself pretty lonely as I have never had a partner or even hardly spoke to any other gay guys as no one from my school came out. But at my current school I talk to nearly all of the girls and I find myself much more comfortable and myself around them. Now I am not really an ambigious gay - I am quite 'camp' - but not extremely camp haha and I don't fit into the flamboyant and confident stereotype a 'camp' gay sets so I am quite reserved and quiet - unless I know the people really well or feel very comfortable around them.

Anytime a straight guy comes over or talks to me I just get so awkward like they're judging me or are digusted in me (even though they aren't as my town is pretty accepting of gays). Because I get so awkward around them whenever they try to have a conversation with me I give very closed answers and I am terrible at speaking and I have no idea why.