1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I'm totally stuck!

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by keops, Dec 27, 2012.

1. keops

keops Guest

Hi everyone!

I'm a 20-years-old university student in Turkey. I am gay but nobody knows except for me. Everyday I have to play this straight boy game. And I'm really unhappy. When I'm with my friends and/or family, I seem to be happy; however, when I'm alone, the feeling of despair surrounds me. And I guess I really am desperate. Before asking for your advice, let me tell you my story.

At the age of 18, I actually came out to my mother suddenly. She felt so bad that she thought I needed medical help, and she suggested me visit her psychiatrist. Unfortunately, in a moment of studipidity, I said I joked; and added that I was not gay. Then, she burst into tears thanking God for this. I thought I solved the problem. Then I started playing straight which I've mentioned above. But to my surprise, what I've done by saying it was just a joke has made the whole situation more problematic.

Then I succeeded in the exams and enrolled in a university located in another city. I spent two and a half years in there and I have two and a half years to spend in that city. For the first two years, I lived in dorms. Now, I am living in a house that I share with a friend of mine, who, as one, who speaks to him about LGBT business, can easily assess, is a complete homophobic. Apart from that, he is one of the greatest people that I've ever met. And of course, he does not know the reality about me. I am always asked about possible girlfriends, I always hear homophobic jokes and the worst part is that I feel I have to smile at them.