1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fear of confrontation?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Vernox, Dec 29, 2012.

1. Vernox

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
    This doesn't have much to do with LGBT, but you guys have good things to say and I need to vent.

So I have a bit of an issue, and it only applies to the workplace.

I work in retail. Obviously, there are disputes left and right about whatever you can think of. And it isn't fun - people are incredibly rude to retail workers. Especially if you're me, a teenage boy. It's basically a free pass for people to be mean. "Hey, since you're older than me, take a few free shots at me because I'm useless and naive."

It's a clothing store I work at - the busiest in the mall. There are lots of policies with things, whether it be discounts, promotions, a returned item... And thus, lots of opportunities for someone to get bitchy with me if something doesn't work for them.
    It seems like everyone in today's society has this feeling of endless entitlement as a customer. It's like a feeling of invincibility, which allows them to do or say anything to a worker, with no consequences... because there never are any. (We want your business!) ...I see it all the time, and all I can do is think to myself, "Who on earth do you think you are? We're all just people here."

But enough about that - here's my issue. The 'confrontations' I seemingly can't deal with can be as minor as someone being unable to return an item because they don't have the receipt. It's that simple.