1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My Letter

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Constant, Jan 2, 2013.

1. Constant

Hi there, if you've read my previous post you'll understand a bit about this. Basically trying to move on with my life and can't do that while I'm in love with my best friend. This letter has been so difficult to write (took me 2 days and a lot of tears), I'd appreciate your thoughts on it before I send it.

[his name]

You are owed an explanation for why I’ve been acting the way I have been recently. I realise that it is starting to make you think you have done something wrong, when the reality could not be further from the truth.

The truth is that I’ve been lying to you (and myself) for the past 4 years about my feelings towards you. I don’t just see you as a friend and I love you more than I will probably ever be able to explain. Just writing that last sentence is strange because it makes me feel so many different things; relief that I finally understand what you mean to me; and a sadness that I can’t even begin to describe because I know that me telling you this means losing the person who means the most to me.