1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Where can I make accepting friends?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Asari, Jan 13, 2013.

1. Asari

Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Is it weird to go to PFLAG alone? I don't have any family or friends I can take. I have a few old friends in this town from the church I grew up in but I can't take them because they don't accept me. I only have one friend that accepts me and my older sister. They both live 3 hours from me. So what help can I get while I'm in college? I'm not technically out to the world but I don't really care to come out to most of the people I know. I prefer to shove them out of my life so they don't reject me. I don't have any real friends and I want to make new friends that are gay and accepting. Where do I start?

2. ForceAndVerve

No, I don't think it would be weird to go to a PFLAG meeting alone. I imagine lots of people do because they are in the same situation like you ie they don't know anyone else who would be interested in going. :slight_smile:

3. RainbowMan

Well, before you go shoving people out of your life, I'd try coming out to them - you may be surprised by their reactions.

And isn't PFLAG for parents and friends? Sure you'd meet accepting people there, but you might not exactly meet other lesbian people there. I wouldn't be so sure if it's odd to go there alone or not, having never been to any type of LGBT support group before.

You might try gay bars around the area too. Probably not good relationship material, but perhaps good friend material.

4. JohnJuan

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Asari,