1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

First Ever Job Interview

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by DarkClarity, Jan 22, 2013.

1. DarkClarity

Tomorrow I have my first ever job interview and I'm very nervous. I'm not good with people and that makes it worst is that it's a group interview which will last for over an hour.

Does anyone have any advice, tips, things I should or should not do? :help:

2. Given To Fly

First things first - relax. Even if you end up not getting the job, it'll be good practise for the next time.

It's worth reading up on the company you are applying to - what do they do, where do they do it, what is their main target market, that sort of thing. Obviously those questions will vary depending on the nature of the company. Be ready to answer questions such as 'why do you want to work for us?', and 'what can you offer us?'.

Good luck :slight_smile:

3. DarkClarity

Thanks for the advice.

4. Given To Fly

5. teluphone

I also have my first job interview tomorrow and my friend coached me a bit on what to do but still doesnt make me less anxious even though its only a part time phone caller job

Make sure you are very familiar with the job you are applying for and know what they expect from you (the competencies) and let the interviewer get to know the real you (but you need to keep any past experiences such as clubs/sports, your schooling experiences and any internships you can draw out relevant to those very atributes they are looking for and not be long-winded at the same time). My friend introduced me an important framework called the STAR. Situations Tasks Action Results. The last two are most important as they specifically focus on you and what you will do in a given situation for your job and not anyone else.