1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming Out...Not an option

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by bballfan, Jan 29, 2013.

1. bballfan

Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
    Hello! I am a 21 y/o college student and I discovered that I am attracted to boys when I was around 12 years old. I have kept this to myself for almost 10 years now. I have tried to ignore my feelings because I knew they would not be accepted by just about everyone that I know. While growing up I felt ashamed of myself and that there was something wrong with me. I definitely did not want to be rejected or made fun of by my peers. The secret killed me inside.

I attended private christian schools all through middle and high school. In 7th grade a rumor went around that I was gay. (In case you don't know, many kids raised in religious families are often indirectly taught to reject and hate homosexuality. I know I was.) I don't even know how the rumor started because I didn't show any signs or tell anyone that I was. As far as I knew I was acting just like any other kid that age. I do remember it being a common "insult" in the school to call someone gay. But anyway, I strongly denied these rumors to anyone and everyone. It was a mortifying experience. I felt hated and rejected.

The significance of this story is after everything died down, I made it a point to keep to myself as much as possible. I feared talking too much or getting too close to anyone because I thought they would find out... And it worked. I lived through High school pretending to be straight, having a girlfriend, and playing sports (which helped keep my mind off everything). I never had many close friends, but I didn't have anyone ever ask me if I was gay. It never came up. Even my (now ex) girlfriend never had a clue.