1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dating a Smoker

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by squally89, Feb 1, 2013.

1. squally89

Hi friends,

So it's my first time dating a smoker and although I don't have a problem about it now, I do know it could be a potential problem in the future.

My problem about is:
    A) It's bad for your health (Can you please live over 50 please?!)
    B) It's an addictive behaviour (yes the classic "I can quit" motto will get old)
    C) It's an expensive habit (Why not put that money into buying ME a ...say valentine's gift :icon_wink)
    D) Does it actually help you "de-stress" or is it simply a placebo?
    E) I will never get tired of saying "Did I order smoke salmon today?" after we kiss (haha)

Funny snotty comments aside, I only know this guy for like a month and he's been pretty honest about how many times he smokes and he would NEVER let ME smoke (lol) and that he tells me he will quit on his own time and he will not be influence by others wanting him to change (oh scorpios~)

Have anyone dated a smoker or is a smoker dating a non smoker? Just want to know how the dynamic is.

2. Minx

Past ex was a smoker, incredibly polite though. He'd leave the room I was in so I didn't cough. He smoked a lot less when together with me.

So he might curb his habit a little while with you. :slight_smile:

3. squally89

Yes he doesn't smoke as much when he's with me. His roommates smokes so he would join them if they're with him.

He would tell me he's stepping out and when he's back he would immediately brush his teeth and mouth wash before kissing me. I don't want him to feel bad or become a closeted smoker.

4. elietto92

elietto92 Guest

I have and believe me, not a good idea. He smelt, and I just couldnt go near him. I would always put my hand over my nose while he smoked. Id rather date a nonsmoker.

5. Z3ni

Z3ni Guest

Aw thats so considerate!