1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming Out to Roommate

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by starmarie, Feb 2, 2013.

1. starmarie

starmarie Guest

Well, hi. I'm a sophomore at a university. My roommate and I lived together last school year and again this school year. We've formed a friendship and we talk about life in general and also deep personal things (I told her when I lost my virginity, stuff like that.) She's also told me a lot about herself. Our spiritualities are similar, and I'm not really afraid to tell her anything, except, naturally, I am nervous about telling her that I'm bisexual.

When I was questioning my sexuality last semester, I told her about it. Okay, I'll admit it, we were under the influence. But she was okay with it, she just didn't say much. She did mention that she has a relative who is bisexual. I know that she is accepting of the LGBT community. Since she didn't say much the first time I told her, I brought it up again and she was just worried that I had a crush on her. I strongly assured her that I didn't (I don't), and she assured me that she was okay with it.

We talked about it a little bit, but we haven't really talked about it since; she's just mentioned that she doesn't mind changing in front of me quickly as long as I wasn't checking her out (she said this somewhat jokingly) and I told her that I wouldn't. I haven't but I'm afraid that I may have accidentally glanced at her once when I walked in (after leaving the room briefly to take out my trash) and she was changing, but I looked away quickly. Since then she's locked the room when changing if I was gone (she's done this before sometimes) but we haven't talked about this. Maybe it just wasn't a big deal to her, I don't know. But I'm still feeling embarrassed and idiotic about it :icon_redf