1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I think I may have chosen the wrong choice at University

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Naomilly92, Feb 10, 2013.

1. Naomilly92

Hi all,

I am in my second year at University. I am studying Computing, the first year went pretty well in all honesty, I got some decent grades and I really enjoyed it, I found that I clicked with it and understood everything I was being taught, fast forward another year, I feel completely lost in my course, it's not the fact that I'm stuck with the work, it's that I don't feel that click I felt last year, I've completely lost interest in the course, it now feels like a chore, most of the modules aren't even what I want to do, my grades have heavily dropped, I don't know how to pick them up, I don't feel like I can do really in any of my Computing modules, I'm not even sure I want to get a job in Computing anymore.

One of my modules for this term is a Business module, my first lecture was the other day, I went in there, I felt intellectually engaged, I got involved in debates in the class room, I took notes and felt like there was a meaning to what I was doing, I felt like this was a module I could really do well in. Which got me into thinking, oh god! What if I have chosen the wrong course, a Business degree seems like something I can really sink my teeth into and enjoy, something I'll feel privileged to learn and something I can really progress with and find a career in.

All this jumping to conclusions may be very sudden, but I don't feel the slightest bit of interest in Computing as a degree anymore, any help?

2. ForceAndVerve

I would talk to your uni about switching courses. It may cost you though.

3. photoguy93