1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dating Clingy People

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Jared, Feb 21, 2013.

1. Jared

So I broke up with my ex a few weeks ago, long story but in short we were more FWB than boyfriends. So I've been seeing this other guy for about a week and half or so, and I told him I wanted to move slow since I got burned jumping into something really fast with my ex.

At first things were moving at about the pace I wanted, then he started calling me baby and telling me how much he liked me and he wants to spend tons of time with me. I mean I like spending time with him, but I want to see my friends too and I have a hard college workload, I'm an engineer and he's a sociology major, so I tend to spend more time on course work than he does. I'm kinda of introvert and enjoy my alone time too, and he always wants me to spend all my free time with him. I've told him that I feel like he's clingy and he says he'll try to tone it down and that lasts for about an hour or two.

I don't know what to do, I like him and I don't want to hurt him, but I don't know if I can deal with another insecure person, my ex was super jealous. I'm also a bit of a people pleaser so that makes it hard for me to stand up for myself sometimes.

2. Tell him everything you told us, and if he doesn't let up for your sake, then say goodbye. That sucks, but if he can't respect your need for time and space now, what makes you think he would in any kind of relationship you might have?

3. Minx

^This.

Sometimes it must really be explained, especially if he doesn't have a lot of experience being in relationships.

But, he tries for a few hours to respect your space. That's something. :slight_smile:

4. skiff

skiff Guest

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Does clingy mean insecure or simply attentive?

Man, I could go for a attentive relationship about now :slight_smile: