1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Lonely

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Anskdra, Mar 18, 2008.

1. Anskdra

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Ok.. I hope to get some feedback here because I have no one else to talk to anymore. I managed to screw up 2 relationships within only a few days' time. One was my best friend, and the other was a new potential boyfriend. Its too early to tell how much damage has been done, but right now I can't talk to either of them and none of my other friends are close enough. I feel lonely, ashamed, and stupid for making some easily avoided mistakes when I really should have known better.

In my best friend's case, I've been crushing on him for the 2 years that I've known him. When we met I was still in the closet. About a year into our friendship I told him I was gay, because I really needed to tell someone, and probably to test if he was too. Of course... he's not. Not even close. But he was still very accepting and even kept my secret for over a year until I was ready to tell people myself. Now.. I've read a lot of internet threads about people in similar situations and the general consensus is always something like, "don't tell him, just be happy with your friendship." And for a long time, I was. But 2 weeks ago something changed. I finally came out to my friends and family. After all the anxiety disappeared, I started to feel like I could tell anyone anything. So I went against my better judgement and told my friend how much I really liked him. I could sense his discomfort, but amazingly he was still okay with it. He said he appreciated the honesty! At first I was overjoyed at the fact that I could be 100% open and honest around him, then things went downhill fast. Since my feelings hadn't subsided at all (if anything they'd intensified), I started to say things to him that I never would have said in the past. I was getting way too flirty and f