1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fitting it into Life...

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Samwise, Mar 4, 2013.

1. Samwise

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Thanks for taking a minute to read my story and to share your advice. I really appreciate all of you and the support of this forum!

My coming out process has picked up steam over the past year or so from what was pure denial and non-acceptance of the fact to the point where I feel like I want to put myself into a position of where I can come out and carry on as an honest and happier person. I graduated college about 2 years ago and have been living in a sort of liminal state since then. Neither here nor there and without any clear direction. After graduating, I became unsure about what career path I wanted to choose since my studies didn't particularly lead to one, so instead I chose to do some traveling and working abroad in hopes of finding some sort of direction to follow. While abroad, I found myself disliking the experience immensely while longing for home and for friends and familiarity. After returning home early, moving back and being initially relieved, I found myself without a real plan once again. Just sitting there hurt and burned from the experience I had. I signed a lease to again stay in the college town I've lived in for years now and began just working odd jobs to pay the rent and get by. Not being sure what I was going to do with my life at that point and feeling like I had gotten myself stuck and struggling to get by, I began to break down emotionally and eventually my deep dark issues began to get coaxed out. It was during this difficult year that I began to admit to myself that I was gay. It came from analyzing why I couldn't be happy. Why didn't I enjoy my experience abroad? Why when I got home did I feel equally as suffocated, anxious and apprehensive? The weight of