1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My roommate outed me to my mom

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by bbqlol10, Mar 6, 2013.

1. bbqlol10

I am a college student and I have a 35 year old roommate that outed me to my mom.
    I am sending my mom a coming out letter.

(My mom found the room in the first place and has contact with my roommate.)

I brought my boyfriend over for the night because my roommate is never home 95% of the time. My roommate came home while we were in bed (no sex) and I had to lock the room while we put on our clothes. My roommate caught on as he saw hickies on my neck and my boyfriend semi-said hi. We thought he would not be homophobic. Turns out I was wrong...

My mom called me the next day. My roommate told her that I broke his TV (which is a lie because I never touched his TV) in order to get to the bigger problem, I had my boyfriend over. My mom asked me "if I was gay"? Right then and there, I hung up and started shaking uncontrollably. I have been staying with my wonderful friends in their dorm for the past two days.

Yesterday, I called my mom to continue our conversation. I had wanted to tell her I was gay, but apparently her denial about me was worse than I imagined and I didn't want to hurt her. I denied her suspicion that I was gay.

I have been very stressed and sad for the entire week. I worry about my mom more than anything right now. I have decided to write her a coming out letter because I believe this is the most pragmatic approach to such a strange and messy situation such as this.

("Me" is mom in Vietnamese)

Me, I will see you once I return from Florida.

Me, I am gay.
    He is my boyfriend.
    I did not have sex with him.

I just want to let you know that I love you, even though we don’t say it very often. You are my inspiration.