1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do you come out to people?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Alphabets, Mar 27, 2013.

1. Alphabets

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    As the title asks, how do you come out to people? Like, do you write it on a note, ask a friend to tell the person you are coming out out, etc. I want to know, because Im gonna come out to my crush tomorrow, and im nervous; because I plan to tell him face to face, which i've never done before. I would mainly write it on a note and give it to a friend, but I want this coming out to be really special. I was plannin to tell him during lunch time, since we don't go to the cafeteria. We stay in our next periods teachers classroom and we usually are alone in there, so I can tell him there.

My questions are:
    -How do YOU come out to people?
    -After coming out to him, how can I not make this awkward (If it happens)?
    -Would it be a bad idea to do it face to face?

2. BradThePug

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Some people
    I've come out to people in person, on facebook (by message and on status) and in some papers for classes.

It's kinda hard not to make things awkward. It's not something that people talk about everyday. I'm not sure where you are at... but maybe you could incorporate everything that has been going on with marriage equality in the US? You could use this to lead into coming out as well.

I think that you should come out in the way that you feel most comfortable. If you think that you would be most comfortable coming out face to face, then come out that way.

I hope that it goes well for you! Let us know how it goes!

3. BornInTexas

I've come out to ALL my friends over text message.

1) I'm an ugly crier, and I cried when I read their replies. I also cried when I was typing it. No one should see me cry. It's not a pretty sight.