1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Why are things so difficult!

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by chrisg, Dec 4, 2006.

1. chrisg

Howdy, all!

Let's see...err...I'm a freshman in college and just came out to my parents...etc. etc. etc. I've been on the board for a while but haven't really been too active because of schoolwork and whatnot.

Anyway, I'm having real trouble finding a relationship with a guy. I don't know if it's me, or if there aren't enough gay guys at my school, but it's really getting me down. I just have no idea how to go about finding a boyfriend. In short, I am hopeless. Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

-Chris

2. nisomer

try joining some clubs and organizations, something especially like a GSA would help finding some gay friends a lot easier.

3. step49x

I've been having similar problems, although my problems lie with not being able to find that many gay guys, period.

I am a freshman at college, much like yourself. I go to a small (3,000ish udergrads), liberal arts college that is affiliated with the Reformed Church of America. Right now, I can probably count all the gay guys I know on one hand.

The biggest problem I have for me right now is, I'm the type of guy that everyone would assume to be straight. My friend that I came out to (straight) said that he noticed I wasn't attracted to girls, but besides that, it was a surprise to him. I'm really not one who goes around proclaiming myself to be gay, whether it be in dress, talk, or mannerisms. So really, the only people that know I'm gay are the ones I tell (i can also count those people on one hand).

If your college has anything like a GSA, I would definitely suggest joining it. I know we have a gay-straight forum and a glbt group (i'm only a part of the former). I'm a little frustrated by the forum, because:
    a) it's not well advertized