1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Facebook: They Caught Me

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by OhBoy4991, Apr 7, 2013.

1. OhBoy4991

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    So, here's my story. I'm 18, turning 19 next week. I am a freshman at a small college in Ohio, and i'm a gay male. Growing up, I went to a Christian school, and went to church until I turned 18. I was in the closet the entire time I went to that school. (In the school handbook, it says you can be dismissed for being a homosexual)
    There came a day when I was in college, a college which accepts homosexual lifestyles, that I decided to tell my parents my secret. They didn't exactly take it as well as I'd hoped. Long story short, they told me I needed to experiment with dating girls before I came to a conclusion, and they bought me a focus on the family book about homosexuality, written by one of those "ex-gay, gay conversion people" They haven't spoken to me about it since.
    Then there's my facebook page. I must've gotten bold one day, and I updated my "interested in" status to "men". Then they decided they wanted to talk, and they weren't happy. They said they didn't want this decision being made known to my younger siblings, and If I ever were to act on my homosexual desires, then I would need to move out of their house. I promptly went to facebook to change my "interested in" back to "blank".
    Now that I think about it, maybe changing my status on FB was a stupid idea. I love my family, but being the Christians they are, they just don't seem to understand what I go through. Being an introvert as long as I can remember, it's hard to meet new people in college. I put on a message on here before about my situation, but took it down in fear of someone finding it.
    Sorry this is so long, and thank you to all who read this far. It means a lot to me.