1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Gay in the Southern US

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by GreyTraveller, May 3, 2013.

1. GreyTraveller

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Hey guys, newbie here :slight_smile:

Well I don't know what stage on the orientation cycle I'm on. I've accepted the fact that I'm gay, happy for it, and I've come out to my favorite internet forum, but I haven't come out to any of my friends or family in real life.

Some background, I live in the conservative region of the Southern US. I was born and raised in Tennessee and currently live and attend college in Mississippi. I'm 18 years old and turning 19 next month. My parents and a lot of my friends are conservative and religious, no one has any idea that I'm gay, and my family jokes and looks down upon the LGBT community. I'm not particularly flamboyant at all, I'm worried that coming out will be a shock for many as I guess I seem pretty straight.

So my questions are the questions many have, what do I do and how to I come out? Especially living in such a conservative region, how do I come out to my parents? I really don't want to keep this a secret from them forever as I don't think it's fair to them to lie and pretend to be straight when I'm not and never will be. Every time I think about it I freeze up and just let the unpleasant thoughts pass.

Can anyone in a situation similar to mine help me out? Any Southern gays on here who can relate?

Help would be much appreciated! :slight_smile:

2. Munyal

I'm in MO, is that close enough?

Well, anywho, I told some of my very close friends begore my parents, and that created a strong web of support to fall back on. They encouraged me and have been great. I probably wouldn't be as out as I am if it weren't for my friends, so I would highly recommend coming out to some close friends first.