1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Unsure what to do

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Unsure201338, May 19, 2013.

1. Unsure201338

Out Status:
    A few people
    hello all. I'm very new to accepting that I'm bisexual. I have been dating a woman now for several months and feel like I should tell her. But, she has said outright that she does not believe bisexuals exist and that she thinks they are just greedy. I'm not sure what to do. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

2. Unsure201338

Out Status:
    A few people
    I apologize btw if this is too similar a post then others...I tried to search and find advice but didnt have much luck. I hope others can/will share their thoughts.

3. SilverGirl

hey there honey! welcome to EC!

well why dont you go slow and try to make her change her mind? i mean like explaining to her that bisexuals do exist and such (without telling or hinting you are one), and that it has nothing to do with being greedy, maybe this way you can make her more receptive if you come out to her in the future :icon_wink

4. PeteNJ

She may already be sensing something's going on with you. And she may be trying to convince you/herself that bi doesn't exist.

Will this change the relationship for you and what you want for yourself? Because telling her you're bi will probably raise that question.

5. Zoe

Zoe

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hello Unsure-

OK, I laughed out loud when I read that your girlfriend thinks A. Bisexuals don't exist and B. And if they did, they're greedy. What is she afraid of?

Have you explored with her why she thinks they don't exist and why she has such a negative reaction to them? And how she can have such a negative reaction to something she thinks doesn't exist? It's like saying you hate unicorns.