1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I'm really uncomfortable with my sexuality

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by gabriell, May 25, 2013.

1. gabriell

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hi
    This is my first time on this website. I am sixteen and I go to a school where i am the only out gay person. I know I am gay and I know that I cannot change my sexuality. But I really don't want to be gay. I wish that I could change my sexuality so that I don't feel so alone, and I find myself googling things like "is it possible to change your sexuality" on a regular basis, just because I want to find some way to escape this reality. I think the real problem is that I have no way to connect or relate in the school I go to, so I end up feeling really alone. I went to an LGBT youth group, but it really didn't seem like the thing for me. :help:

2. greatwhale

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hi and welcome to EC!

Acceptance is a process, it's not an instantaneous thing, there is work to do to come to terms with who you are.

Obviously you need companions on this journey, so welcome among us, we're here to help each other!

3. Rexmond

I am the only out gay person in my school as well, and I too felt lonely. However, I developed a relationship with one of my teachers, and when the time was right, I came out to him, despite everything he had done for me - I still didn't know how he would react, he could have been homophobic for all I know. He was there to comfort and support me even more, which I'm grateful for.